Rhode Island Foreclosure Law: How The Foreclosure Process Affects You

Find Best Deals in Real Estate
Become a member and find all real estate bargains, some as low as $10,000.
This section will review foreclosure laws in Rhode Island. Because foreclosure laws vary from state to state, it is important to understand how the Rhode Island.foreclosure process works. Remember, when you consider buying a foreclosure, the state in which the property is located determines the laws regarding the property, not the state where the buyer may reside. In many cases buyers of foreclosed homes located in Rhode Island also live in Rhode Island. Be aware of how state foreclosure laws may impact your personal situation. You can learn a lot about the system for foreclosure in Rhode Island in this section, but our information is not a substitute for professional legal advice. And because every state’s laws are subject to change without notice, we recommend you consult a real estate lawyer to gain a professional opinion of our information, and your interpretation of the information, as it applies to your specific real estate investment or home purchase situation. Visit the Rhode Island law details below to learn about how Rhode Island foreclosure handles aspects of judicial or non-judicial availability, primary security instruments, foreclosure timelines and foreclosure filing milestones, guidelines for Power of Sale in Rhode Island, and application of deficiency judgments. We’ll help you understand these foreclosure law terms and how Rhode Island applies them to the process. You may or may not need to navigate through Rhode Island’s laws in great detail during your purchase process, but smart foreclosure buyers find that learning a lot might help save a lot on a discount home purchase.
Judicial Foreclosure Available:
Yes
Non-Judicial Foreclosure Available:
Yes
Primary Security Instruments:
Deed of Trust, Mortgage
Timeline:
Typically 60 days
Right of Redemption:
Varies by Process
Deficiency Judgments Allowed:
Yes
Information on Rhode Island foreclosure laws.
In Rhode Island, lenders may foreclose on deeds of trusts or mortgages in default:
1. By using the judicial foreclosure process

2. By filing a lawsuit seeking eviction

3. By taking possession of the house

4. By the borrower voluntarily giving up possession

5. By using the non-judicial foreclosure process.


Judicial Foreclosure
The judicial process of foreclosure, which involves filing a lawsuit to obtain a court order to foreclose, is used when no power of sale is present in the mortgage or deed of trust. Generally, after the court declares a foreclosure, your home will be auctioned off to the highest bidder.

Special Procedures
In instances where the lender takes possession of the house, they must do so peaceably and in the presence of two witnesses. Said witnesses must give a certificate of possession, which must then be notarized. Additionally, borrowers who voluntarily give up possession of the property must do so in the presence of a notary. In these instances, the lender will obtain the full title to the property if they are able to maintain possession for an established period of time.

Non-Judicial Foreclosure
The non-judicial process of foreclosure is used when a power of sale clause exists in a mortgage or deed of trust. A "power of sale" clause is the clause in a deed of trust or mortgage, in which the borrower pre-authorizes the sale of property to pay off the balance on a loan in the event of the their default. In deeds of trust or mortgages where a power of sale exists, the power given to the lender to sell the property may be executed by the lender or their representative, typically referred to as the trustee. Regulations for this type of foreclosure process are outlined below.

Power of Sale Guidelines
If the deed of trust or mortgage contains a power of sale clause and specifies the time, place and terms of sale, then the specified procedure must be followed. Otherwise, the non-judicial power of sale foreclosure is carried out as follows:
1. The lender must mail a written notice of the time and place of sale, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the borrower at his or her last known address, at least 20 days prior to the first publication, including the day of mailing in the computation.

2. The notice must appear in a newspaper in the county where the property is located once a day for 4 consecutive weeks, with the first publishing being not less than 30 days before the sale.

3. Said notice must contain the names of the borrower and lender, the mortgage date, the amount due, a description of the premises and the time and place of sale.

Find Homes for Sale

Latest News

RealtyStore reports its Foreclosure Reviews for the top counties in the U.S. on quarterly basis. Check back frequently to see the latest Foreclosure Trends in your market. * Follow this link for Realtystore.com reviews by our customers.

GOOD DEAL